Garden Update

Even though it has a been a month since my last post, I have been doing a lot of crafting.  Just now catching up after a couple of weekends being away.  And we had a major setback when my partner broke his ankle (and we lost the camera), but he is feeling much better now and am I able to balance the household tasks by myself more easily.

So it’s the end of June!  Big garden updates.  First, I was able to harvest the broccoli, cauliflower, and peas over the past few weeks.


And so as a result of those great harvest, I have replaced several of those plants with hot peppers.  Will the hot peppers grow in my semi-shaded garden?   We shall see.  This photo shows how crazy the tomato plant is growing.  There are over ten tomatoes growing on it right now.  Cabbage and brussel sprouts are still growing on the left and right of the peppers.

And to see what my garden looks like from near my front porch, here is a photo.  The tall black pole leads up to a bat house that T. built.  It does not have any bats in it yet, but we hope so eventually to help keep mosquitoes at bay.

I am also excited to show off my flowers.  My yard is full of beautiful flowers from the previous renters, but I wanted to see if I could plant a few this season.  Here is the sterling star lily plant that I planted from the bulb:

And the bellflowers that I planted from a small plant:

Now that I showed you everything that is working out in my garden, what is not?  The radishes did not grow well a second time.  The brussel sprouts and cauliflower that I planted from seed were just too tiny to continue.  My garden definitely does better with the transplants.  And I am still waiting on a few more flowers to appear.  These photos are not my usual quality, but they were all taken with my new iPhone (the other thing that has been taking up all of my time), not too bad for a camera phone, right?  I will be posting again soon with updates on cards and knitting projects!

Leave a Reply

