2011 Christmas Cards and Tags

Another year of handmade Christmas cards and tags!  I really struggled with an idea this year.  For some reason, I think people will remember my previous cards and the different techniques I have used, so I feel like the options are narrowing.  And I learned my lesson a couple years ago on making complicated cards.  So this year I stuck with a blue and white theme with an angel and lace:

 

Merry Christmas is stamped on the inside with a blue ink.  The Inkadinkado stamp set was one that I picked up at CKC this year for $3.  I bought the lace at Hobby Lobby.  It was actually very difficult to stick down.  I used a combination of the red sticky tape and clear glue to make it work.  I like the touch of the rounded corners.

Then I made some Christmas tags to swap with the Paper Capers group.  I wanted to use the medallion technique that has been all over the blogs this season.  Jennifer McGuire demonstrated it for the Studio Calico website.  First I made the medallions too big, so I kept this one for a decoration:

Then I got the hang of it and was able to make them small enough for tags.  I did make the mistake of trying to make one with striped paper…if you try this, make sure you line up your stripes.

I store all of my Christmas paper and embellishments in one easy to grab plastic folder.  So it is fun to just grab it and see what I can create.  That is how the little penguin tags came to be.

Done for card making in 2011!  But it is already time to start thinking about the card possibilities for 2012!

Leave a Reply

