How to Make Vanilla Extract and Vanilla Sugar

This year for Christmas I wanted to make something special for my friends and family.  Something small to give as a fun gift.  I found the idea for making vanilla extract and vanilla sugar from several sources online.  I convinced a friend to go in on buying the beans and glassware with me to split.  I made fifteen of these gift sets.  I highly recommend that you make these next year!

 

Recipe for Vanilla Extract:

  • 1/2 vanilla bean (any flavor)
  • 1.7 oz of vodka (or the amount that will fit in your bottle)

Put the two ingredients together in your bottle.  Let it sit in a dark place for 8 weeks or longer.

 

 

Recipe for Vanilla Sugar:

  • 1/2 vanilla bean (any flavor)
  • 1 cup of pure granulated cane sugar

Put the two ingredients together in a jar.  Let it sit in a dark place for 8 weeks or longer.

So glad these gifts went over so well with my friends and family!

One thought on “How to Make Vanilla Extract and Vanilla Sugar

  1. Caitlin, Thank you so much for the vanilla sugar and extract. The extract bottle looks excellent in my herb rack. A fun gift and the presentation was perfect. Cathy

Leave a Reply

