Queen-Sized Quilt for My Bed

I did it!  Another 2011 resolution done.  After I started quilting in June 2011, I knew I wanted to make a queen-sized quilt for my bed.  I quickly decided on the Pure by Moda fabric line because it matches the bedroom and has fun sayings like, “pure happiness” and “pure love.”  I made my sister’s wedding quilt out of the same fabric and will probably buy more for future quilts.

 

The pattern I used was the Topsy Turvy Quilt on the Moda Bakeshop website.  Mine did not turn out very topsy or turvy.  Not sure how that happened, I followed the directions.  I even used the exact sized square ruler to make my cuts.  But I still love it.

Instead of using the typical quilting method, I wanted to make this a lighter blanket.  So there is no batting, just the quilt top and a blanket from IKEA for the backing.  I really hate binding so I ended up making this like a pillowcase and sewing down around the edges.  I used my walking foot to quilt the diagonal lines through the whole quilt.

Hooray for my first queen-sized quilt!  Now I never want to make one this large again.  Just too big in the sewing machine.  I want to focus on smaller quilts for 2012.  Very happy with this finished project, especially because it is for me!

One thought on “Queen-Sized Quilt for My Bed

  1. A big congratuations to you on finishing your queen size quilt! I love everything about it, colors, pattern and the light weight sounds perfect. You are the craft queen!

Leave a Reply

