The Last Pair of Socks for 2011

It is already the new year but I need to wrap up the big ordeal from 2011 – 12 pairs of socks in 12 months!  You have seen the progress and every new pair.  This is the last pair for 2011 – finished on December 30th.  Had to wash the pair and let them try before posting.

 

 

One of my favorite pairs out of the 12, definitely.  Great, easy to memorize pattern.  The yarn was nice.  And aren’t the color variations cools?  Check out my project page here.

 

And since that is the last pair, I guess I should do a little recap!  One of my 12 pairs went to my sister, so it may be awhile before I get a photo of all twelve pairs together.  I learned a lot along the way, here are the bullet points:

  • I like knitting socks with patterns I can memorize easily.  Remember the orangey October socks?  Never again.
  • I do not really have a preference for top down or toe up, they are both nice.  Top down is a little bit easier to start.
  • I have memorized the kitchener stitch for good.
  • My favorite heel is probably still the classic gusset heel.  Afterthought is good.  Short row heels kind of drive me crazy.
  • Cashmere in sock yarn is heavenly.
  • I really like knitting on 9″ circular needles.
  • And one at a time.  Two at a time sock knitting is fine, but usually a little fiddly and less portable.
  • Knitting a pair of socks per month is definitely doable, it just distracted me from other knitting (like sweaters).
  • Even though I have a small drawer full of socks now, I still need many more to complement the wardrobe.
  • And therefore, sock yarn purchases now will be limited to more neutral colors.  No more bright purple socks!
  • I do not feel the need to knit 12 pairs of socks in 2012, but I may try to knit 6 pairs.
  • Because oh yeah, I somehow bought more sock yarn during 2011.
  • Putting the yarn in the paper bags made the world of difference in motivation.  It was so exciting to rip open the bags.

There you have it, the socks of 2011!  I do have to admit I have already knit one sock in 2012…Now it is almost mindless to cast these things on and sit and work on them!  And I treated myself to a sock knitting book and sock blockers.  Things I could have probably used before I started all of this…but you’ll have that.  Hooray for success!

Leave a Reply

