Owl Central

I love owls – who doesn’t?  I started liking them right before owls were everywhere – on fabric, bags, mugs, stamps, etc.  Over the years I have received several gifts that are owl related.  But recently I have knitted two owl objects for someone else.

During Thanksgiving break I knit the Hoot Toque Hat out of Knit Picks City Tweed.  It looks really cute on the recipient and has earflaps with tassels.  Such a fun knit.

And then recently, the same friend asked for new mittens (well okay, we had the conversation in February when it was still cold).  Of course she liked the owl pattern – Whoo Gives a Hoot.  I knit these out of stash yarn, win-win.

Aren’t those fun?  The hardest part was sewing on the details.  I know she gets lots of compliments on the hat, hopefully next year she will be able to show off the mittens too.

Leave a Reply

