Experiencing Camp KIP

It was just two weeks ago that I was relaxing and enjoying myself at the knitting retreat Camp KIP.  Nothing beats the experience of a true vacation.  Nowhere to be and nothing to do but show up for meals and prize drawings.  I met so many new friends and favorite podcasters.  Remember when I posted about the Piper’s Journey I knit?  Well here I am wearing it with the designer herself, Paula of the Knitting Pipeline.
IMG_0640

Hands down the best part of camp was when I won the biggest prize – a Fricke spinning wheel.  It is being shipped to me, I cannot wait to start spinning on it!  Fricke is an amazing company with an awesome wheel.  I could definitely convince you to buy one if you are in the market for a wheel.  Here I am at camp with someone else’s Fricke.
IMG_0635

I learned so many new things at camp.  First, it was amazing to see so many hand knits in one spot.  It was fun to go up to people and name the pattern they were wearing.  And of course getting lots of compliments on your own work is a good feeling.  I learned how to use a drum carder too.  It is an amazing tool that helps you prepare fiber for spinning.  I almost think I need one.  But thankfully, there is no strong urge.
IMG_0632

Camp KIP was an amazing stash enhancer!  The whole reason I started my “stash diet” was so that I could buy yarn at camp on vendor day.  And oh did I buy.  I actually bought more fiber than yarn, but still.  When you buy one skein of sock yarn with 400 yards and it takes about a month to knit a pair of socks…you can see how easy it is to build a stash.  I also visited three yarn shops in the area near camp.  My bags to go home were packed to the brim.  Very happy with my purchases, but now it is time to fess up to the stash enhancement.  I am still ahead of the game!  But barely.  Major knitting will be happening this summer.  If you ever get a chance to attend a craft retreat, take the opportunity.  So worth it.

 

Yarn and Fiber Stash Report as of May 11, 2012:

Knit Year to Date:  4,092 yards

Traded/Sold Year to Date:  1,796 yards

Purchased Year to Date: 3,560 yards

Acquired for Free to Date:  1,550 yards

Net Destashed for 2012:  778 yards

Spun Year to Date:  1,190 yards

2 thoughts on “Experiencing Camp KIP

    • Caitlin, you better watch out. You might end up being a professional crafter/designer instead of a professor!!!! Sounds like you had a great time. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

