Simple Sympathy Card

Today I am excited to share a simple card I made for Paper Capers that actually involved a new technique for me.

 

I started with the idea to use one of my Unity stamp sets – a yo-yo with the phrase “through life’s ups and downs…i’m here.”  Then I picked out a set of cards and envelopes from my stash in a dusty color.  I felt inspired to use my plastic templates and Mister Huey mist from Studio Calico in the Clay color.  I misted the front of the card and the front of the envelope with the template in place.  It was very easy to wipe down the plastic template in between sprays. I used Distress Markers and an aqua brush on watercolor paper to create the soft look on the yo-yo.  A red marker filled in the lines to add some color.  I threaded a thick brown ribbon through a slit on top of the card to create the flat surface.  I stamped the yo-yo image straight onto the card to get the extra lines on the yo-yo.

 

The inside of the card includes the message with a heart punched out of the background paper.  I really like this combination of browns and red.  I use it a lot in my kitchen and living room decor.  I have definitely been in a mood to create cards this week – just have to find more time to spend in my craft room!  Until next time.

Leave a Reply

