Two More Shawls

Recently I finished two more knitted shawls.  That makes six this year alone (two were planned gifts).  Knitting shawls really is addicting.  I usually learn something new along the way and they are relatively quick knits.  About the same level as socks for me.  Now I just need to make myself wear them more often…which really just involves buying shirts to match.  One of these days.

First up is the Hyla Brook by Paula from the Knitting Pipeline.  When I met Paula in April at Camp KIP, she was wearing her own Hyla Brook.  I knit this as part of the podcast knitalong and enjoyed every step.  This yarn is squishy and soft, which will be perfect wrapped around the neck this fall.  I definitely plan to knit another one of these in the future.

And then here is my Windward Shawl, a knitalong I did with my sister.  We both used the same yarn base in different colors.  This was one of those knits that seems like it is going to be easy and enjoyable, but actually ended up being a lot of work.  It just required a lot of thinking, which is funny considering it is garter and stockinette stitch throughout.  The design is very clever, but I have no desire to knit it again.  Love the overall length of the shawl.

 

Which then brings me to my yarn and fiber stash update!  I am still ahead on my goal of “more yards out than in.”  I have some Christmas related knitting on the horizon that will require new yarn purchases, but otherwise I should be good for the rest of the year.  Hoping I can cross the 12,000 mark by the end of December, which would work out to 1,000 yards a month!  That sounds amazing to me!  So glad I have been keeping track this year.

 

Yarn and Fiber Stash Report as of October 20, 2012:

Knit Year to Date:  10,470 yards

Traded/Sold Year to Date:  2,581 yards

Purchased Year to Date: 6,200 yards

Acquired for Free to Date:  3,790 yards

Net Destashed for 2012:   3,061 yards

Spun Year to Date:   5,463 yards

Leave a Reply

