Homemade Hot Chocolate Mixes

Last year for small Christmas gifts I made vanilla extract and sugar.  I had to create them well in advance of the holidays and it ended up working out really well.  This year I decided to make hot chocolate mix in a jar.  It seemed even easier than the vanilla extract, but I underestimated how busy I would get during the holidays and how messy loose powder can get.  I bought 16 ounce jars from Specialty Bottle.  If I did it again, I would definitely go with the 8 ounce size, mainly due to the amount I gave out – it was a lot of ingredients.  I used the recipe from this website, with the cayenne pepper and cinnamon.  I loved the taste of it!  I should have made a jar for myself!

 

 

I created the tags using my Quickutz dies and printer.  A little Stickles made them glittery.  And you cannot see it in this photo, but I packed each jar with marshmallows for the top.  It helped keep the powder down in the jar and made it cuter.  I saved some (empty) jars for next year so I can do this again.  I do recommend it if you are looking for a nice gift, just keep your quantities low and do it well in advance of the holiday madness!

One thought on “Homemade Hot Chocolate Mixes

Leave a Reply

