Birthday Fabric Banner

Fabric pennants and banners are everywhere right now!  So for a surprise birthday party, I decided to create a name banner.  I used leftover fabric from a quilt I made for the same person.  After looking at several tutorials, I decided to create a simple rectangle banner.  I used my pinking shears to cut the rectangles and sewed a simple seam to sandwich them.  The letters were created using my own drawing and Wonder Under.  How have I never used this double sided fusible interfacing before?  It was really cool.  Black bias tape strung all of the rectangles together, and voila!

 

 

The photo was a little grainy and dark, so I lightened it and there appears to be a halo around the rectangles, but there really is not.  Just black, white, and pink fabric.  I will definitely be making more of these in 2013.

One thought on “Birthday Fabric Banner

Leave a Reply

