End of 2013 Stash Report and Goals

Another year is ending and it is time to recap my crafting adventures!  My word of the year was acceptance and I definitely had to do a lot of accepting with my crafting this year.  My life adventures took over most of my crafting time this year, but I knew it was okay.  I accepted it from the beginning and am glad I was able to accomplish as much as I did.  What a wonderful year to reflect on!  The original post about my 2013 goals is here.

My first crafting goal was to keep track of three stashes – yarn, fiber, and fabric.  The main idea was to use more than I brought in of each substance.  Especially when I realized in March that I would be moving, I really limited my purchasing on all three fronts.  Well then we moved into the house with almost unlimited crafting space (in the basement)!  And I had specific gift requests for projects using fabric (but they are not done yet).  And I did very little knitting (compared to last year).  I did not even touch my spinning wheel in this fourth quarter (our puppy is a little too interested).  Thank goodness it was the year of acceptance!  I am very happy with the progress I did make on this goal and plan to continue the tracking into next year.  Oh and I will say I was just in NYC and went into a fabric and yarn store and did not buy a thing in either (did not want to mess up my progress this close to the end of the year!).  So it does keep me in line.

Fabric Update:

Used Year to Date: 7 yards

Added Year to Date:  17.6 yards (just purchased all the fabric for a quilt in progress)

Destashed Year to Date:  -10.6 yards

Yarn Update:

Knit Year to Date:  6,490 yards

Traded/Sold/Gave Away Year to Date:  1,638 yards

Purchased Year to Date: 3,877 yards

Acquired for Free to Date:  1,371 yards

Net Destashed for 2013:  2,880 yards

Fiber Update (no changes since third quarter):

Ounces Spun Year to Date:  104.3 ounces

Purchased Year to Date:  76 ounces

Yards Spun Year to Date:  4,360 yards

Net Destashed for 2013:  28.3 ounces (1.76 pounds)

My second goal for 2013 was to finish spinning the fiber for a handspun sweater and knit it.  I completed half of this goal by finishing the spinning part.  The yarn sits in my stash, waiting to be made into a sweater.

The third goal of the year was to NOT participate in Camp Loopy this year.  I loved participating it in the past two years, but I thought it was keeping me from knitting from my stash.  This goal became very easy to complete once I knew what the summer had in store for me – moving.  I did not knit from my stash to the extent I used to knit in Camp Loopy, but that is okay.  I did not participate so I did complete this goal!

The fourth goal of 2013 was to knit six projects for myself out of the six “brown bags” I created.  This idea worked really well for me when I knit 12 pairs of socks in 12 months using the brown bags, but I just could not get into it this year.  I think I knit one pair of socks and then I just picked the projects I wanted to work on after that.  So I still have 4-5 unopened brown bags to explore next year.

The fifth goal was to make a t-shirt quilt out of my box of t-shirts.  I made some progress on this goal by cutting all of the t-shirts into squares ready for quilting.  I still need to add the interfacing before I sew them all together, but cutting them down freed up a lot of space in my stash.  Just imagine the yardage I am going to get to count next year on this project!

The sixth goal of 2013 was to create a master list of scrapbook pages that need to be completed and do them.  I made big progress on this goal.  I filled in a lot of pages that needed titles or ribbon at a scrapbook crop in October.  I completed entire pages that had been skipped over.  And even a vacation album!  But I do not want to say that I have every single page done in my scrapbooking history.  There are still a few things here and there I need to fill in.  A few pages are sitting on my desk downstairs right now.  And I have a big weekend crop coming up next month.  I am very happy to have multiple shelves full of scrapbooks.

And the last goal was to organize my stamp filing cabinet this year.  Well that entire cabinet moved with me.  And continues to be semi-disorganized.  But I did make some progress on organizing it.  Some days I want one unified system for all of my stamps and other days I am fine with the hodge podge system that I have.  So we will see what I do now that I have new space to rearrange the stamps.

That is the final recap for my 2013 goals.  I think about all of the things I crafted this year that were unexpected.  I also had no idea that decorating and home renovation would take over part of my crafting time.  Thank you for reading this far and I look forward to your comments in 2014!

Leave a Reply

