Wedding Craftiness

The anticipation has been built! The big day happened! And it was wonderful and beautiful AND crafty. I stuck true to my goal of enjoying the crafting for my wedding. There were no late nights of frenzied crafting. No going overboard on minor details. Just simple crafting that I enjoyed along the way. Time for the photos!

 

Gifts at the rehearsal, many handmade.

 

I made eight boxes for the girls who helped with the wedding (I didn’t have official bridesmaids). Each girl got a personalized bookmark and handmade sugar scrub (sugar + Olay Dawn Dish Soap Pomegranate – two ingredients).

 

A little hot glue with flowers, tulle, and a hair comb. Easy! I made two versions of this and the hairstylist chose this one. I tried to make a full birdcage veil and it just made me look like a lunch lady. This worked out so much better and I couldn’t even feel it.

 

I made my bouquet very early on in the process. Three fake hydrangea stems with brooches scattered through out. I watched many YouTube videos on how to make brooch bouquets and the series by Jessica Flores was the most helpful.

 

I made us cards to exchange on the morning of our wedding. Here I am reading the one Tom wrote to me. Very similar design to our thank you cards.

 

Of course I had to get a photograph of me knitting on my wedding day! Here I am working on a Bitty Baby dress for Ella. I bought that bag just for the wedding from The Needle Palace on Etsy.

 

And then my sister Avery knit me the shawl for my wedding! I gave her the yarn (Quince and Company) and requested the Shaelyn pattern.

 

Just throwing in one of my favorite shots here. Our photographer was amazing.

 

Reception time! I used three mason jars (quart, pint, jelly) on top of a wood slab. Tom’s grandmother gave us the jars from her canning days and his uncle cut the wood slabs for us from a tree on his property. I bought a big roll of burlap to make the runners myself (raw edges). Hydrangeas and baby’s breath for the flowers with a fake votive candle. Very simple!

 

Our table signs were a little different – from an idea I saw on Pinterest. All numbers that were important to us. Miles between our hometowns, dates, etc.

 

There were about ten children at our wedding, so they had special placemates and a set of crayons. I also made these “I Spy” jars (the tag is on the other side). When you rolled around the jar, you could “spy” the different items, like a dinosaur, eraser, etc. Another idea from Pinterest.

 

Our sweetheart table. I almost bought a custom set of mugs, but then found plain mugs at Joann’s for $2 and dressed them up myself. We had a special wedding brew in them. Very fun!

 

I even decorated the bag for the dollar dance! Just a simple canvas bag from Hobby Lobby. Used a masking alphabet and misting spray. Just took a few minutes to make.

 

Those are the highlights!  Our guestbook were quilt blocks, but I’ll save that for a separate post when I finish the quilt.  I’m so glad I got to craft parts of my wedding and save some money along the way doing it.  We are so blessed!  I’ll leave you with this last fun photo (made that pennant in the background too).

 

10 thoughts on “Wedding Craftiness

  1. Beautiful! I crafted a lot of things for our wedding also, and I’m a bit sad we never took many detailed photos like you did, so I’m really happy for you that you documented your crafts in such detail.

    Congratulations to you and your husband also 🙂

  2. You wedding was so wonderful! I loved the reception and meeting your family! You did such a great job on the decorations! I love your detail, yet simplicity! My favorite part will be the quilt! That idea is awesome!

  3. Every bit of your wedding craftiness is impressive! The “I Spy” Mason Jar looks so fun! Your Photographer got some good pictures of you and Tom!

Leave a Reply

