Parker’s Log Cabin Blanket

Once my sister told me she was pregnant earlier this year, I wanted to knit all kinds of projects for her.  But we did not know the gender yet and so of course a blanket made sense while I waited.  My local knitting group was just finishing up the Blanket of Love and I wanted to make more squares!  So I picked out six colors of Vanna’s Choice at Joann’s and got started.  Even though Vanna’s Choice is a 100% acrylic yarn and non-snobby, I really do enjoy using it for baby and kid projects.  It has a nice thick consistency and rich colors.

I just jumped into the project, knowing I wanted to stick with the red/orange and yellow centers in the squares.  I only bought one ball of each color to start…but then once I saw that the balls made exactly four squares…and four squares was a good size for a baby blanket…I stopped there!  I love the finished result.

I just gave the blanket to my sister at her baby shower this weekend.  Of course now we know she is having a boy and a Dr. Seuss themed nursery.  So this blanket turned out perfectly!  I will definitely return to this pattern and highly recommend it.  

4 thoughts on “Parker’s Log Cabin Blanket

  1. You did an awesome job on this blanket! I love the colors, and you must be thrilled to be an aunt soon! I am so happy for your family! Your sisters are just such sweet individuals!

Leave a Reply

