Friendship Has Its Perks Cards

The October 2014 Simon Says Stamp card kit, “Friendship Has Its Perks” was one of my absolute favorites from the year.  The coffee theme appealed to me right away and then they combined it with rich, vibrant colors?  Beautiful.  I was taking the Online Card Class about Copic Markers when this card kit arrived, so I immediately decided to color in my coffee mug with Copics.

When Copics started to become popular with card makers around 2007, I avoided the craze.  I just did not see the appeal of markers, let alone expensive markers.  I held strong until Stampin’ Up came out with their Blendabilities line.  Reasonably priced AND matching the paper colors?  I was sold (by Brianna – my demonstrator friend!).  I now have a handful of Copic Markers combined with colors from the Stampin’ Up Blendabilities.  I like both brands of alcohol markers, but of course the Copic Markers have more variety in their color selections to allow for more color control.  That Online Card Class made the world of difference in understanding how to use Copic and alcohol markers.  I still do not have a desire to spend hours coloring one image.  But it is pretty cool to see how much shading you can get with just a few markers.

Both of the cards I made were inspired by Shari Carroll’s “Coffee Time” card.  My favorite parts were the wood veneer pieces and the matte brown sequins.  I know I will keep coming back to this card kit for new cards to send to my friends!

3 thoughts on “Friendship Has Its Perks Cards

Leave a Reply

