2014 End of Year Stash Report and Goal Updates

The end of truly wonderful and beautiful year for me is here!  Time to check in on my crafty goals and give the final stash report.  Remember, 2014 was The Year of Flow, which turned out to be an excellent word.  I referenced flow several times to friends throughout the year and it was a great reminder to myself when things got hectic.

Let’s start with the stash reports, which was my first goal of the year:

Fabric Update:

Used Year to Date: 26.5 yards

Added Year to Date:  21 yards

Destashed Year to Date:  5.5 yards

Not bad for still needing to complete my t-shirt quilt and wedding quilt!

Fiber Update:

Ounces Spun Year to Date:  56 ounces

Purchased Year to Date:  55 ounces

Yards Spun Year to Date:  2,528 yards

Net Destashed for 2013:  1 ounce

Barely made it on this one, but still ahead!

Yarn Update:

Knit Year to Date:  8,001 yards

Woven Year to Date:  740 yards

Traded/Sold/Gave Away Year to Date:  993 yards

Purchased Year to Date: 8,646 yards

Acquired for Free to Date:  995 yards

Net Destashed for 2013:   93 yards

Whew, just barely made it.  Considering I was about 1,000 yards behind three months ago, I am proud of myself!  Being the social scientist that I am, I just had to make a chart to compare the past three years of yarn usage:

Interesting, isn’t it?  2012 was a prolific year of knitting for me (too bad I did not track the years before that).  I really cut back on buying in 2013, which makes sense with our big move.  And this year I increased my knitting again, but bought almost the same amount.  I’ll blame my new nephew for that…I just HAD to knit him a blanket…and buy the yarn for it…and just HAD to knit the baptism gown…and buy the yarn for it.  I am just kidding about the blame – it is a miracle I did not feel compelled to knit more for this kid!

My nephew wearing the Woodland Tee I knit for him.

Other Goal Updates:

  • Enjoy the crafting for my wedding.

Well this goal was a huge success and I blogged about it here.  I loved crafting for my wedding and stuck to my motto of flow and enjoying it along the way.  I even went through some withdrawal afterwards – I missed walking into a craft store and dreaming about the wedding!  Now I have beautiful photos, video, and memories to remind me about it all!

  • Start and/or finish at least five projects for myself.

This year I finished and started 22 knitting projects and 6 of them were for me.  12 of the 22 were for kids in my life.  None of them were sweaters for myself!  This will definitely need to be an updated goal for 2015…always a “struggle” to balance the things I want to do for others and spending the time on making things for myself.  How long have I been saying I am going to finish that t-shirt quilt for myself?  I DID go with the flow on this goal though.

  • Start an outdoor garden at this house.

I said I would plant something – anything – and I did!  I started with potatoes and basil plants in containers.  That was a big accomplishment, considering the wedding.  I am also glad I waited to make a permanent garden because our yard changed drastically this year with the dogs and home improvement projects.  So next year I can go beyond my herb and one vegetable!

  • Paint the rest of the house and put curtains up in every room.

Well…we made a lot of progress on this goal, but it is not a complete goal.  When I made this goal, the second bedroom was not touched, and that room got done this summer, curtains and all.  The living room and kitchen were already done I think…except the curtains.  We just recently updated those.  I made a custom Roman Shade for the one bathroom – that was cool.  And we did make big progress on the breezeway (which I am committed to finishing before the new semester starts!).  And we did buy the rest of the paint we need…we just need to actually do it.  The master bedroom, hallway, and bathrooms are the last rooms that need paint.  I did have a friend at my house last week that said, “You have done SO much to this place in the past year.”  And yes – she is right!  Out of 1975 into 2015 here we come.  Although I am pretty sure that harvest gold counter top is going to outlive me.  🙂

That’s it for 2014!  Such a wonderful year, both in life and crafting!  So glad I made reasonable goals for myself and stayed in the flow.  I am really looking forward to planning 2015!  Happy New Year everyone!

2 thoughts on “2014 End of Year Stash Report and Goal Updates

    • I bet you are well over 15,000 yards! You could add up the projects in Ravelry for 2014. I just keep track with knitmeter.com. And you’re right – babies won’t be little forever. 🙂

Leave a Reply

