My Rigid Heddle Adventures

After the wedding last June, the present I gave to myself was a 15″ Schacht Cricket Rigid Heddle Loom.  I had been eyeing them for several months ahead of time, thinking about which loom I wanted to buy.  Reading the reviews and comments on Ravelry really helped and I am really glad I chose this loom.  Right away I made two scarves, but then I was stalled out for several months because I had a slightly stretchy yarn on the warp.  I finally finished that project and then got back on a kick of weaving plain weave scarves.  Somehow I never blogged about any of them this entire time.  So this will be the rigid heddle loom montage of projects (all listed on my Ravelry page):

A special thanks to my direct warp helper – my husband!  And the dogs seem to always want to help as well.  Why am I posting all these projects now, you might ask? Well, I have moved on to a bigger loom already.  I saw a deal online that I could not pass up – while I was watching for a deal on hand combs.  That’s another story for another day.  But yes, I bought a floor loom for an incredible price and am currently learning how to use it.  My mother-in-law has my rigid heddle loom on loan so she can learn how to weave next.  And my friend Janelle has a Cricket loom now too!  She tried mine out on knit night at my house and caught the bug (so I say).  The weaving bug is spreading…looking forward to seeing what I can create next on my big loom!

12 thoughts on “My Rigid Heddle Adventures

  1. Caitlin! This is AMAZING! You are indeed crafty. I’m going to follow closely to see what else you make with a loom!

Leave a Reply

